Hitting the Wall

Posted: February 15, 2011 in Christian Living, Ministry
Tags: , , ,



Surface Of Red Brick Wall

Image: nuttakit / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I hit the wall. Hard. It happens from time to time, but it’s never fun. Maybe it’s happened to you at some point. You’re doing fine, the world seems to be as it should. Your walk with God is going well, and everything just seems to fall into place. The next thing you know you feel like the SWAT team just mistook your house for a meth lab, and you as the neighborhood drug czar.

All of the warm and fuzzy feelings seem to fall away in an instant, and you’re immobilized. You never saw it coming. It just happened. You don’t know what to do, and you’re not even sure you want to do anything at all. You just want to find cover, and lay quietly, licking your wounds.

Well, that’s kind of where I am right now. I feel disconnected from God, and life seems to be fairly out of control. I can’t seem to get a grip on anything, and the more I tried to grasp, the more I ended up pushing things away. So now I’m just tired. I just want to lie down and recover.

I know that I need to get up and keep moving, but I seem to lack motivation. I would love to be able to stay down and recover slowly, but I don’t have the luxury of time. I lead at least two ministries a week, and I cannot stay out of the game for very long before people start to notice, and ministries start to lose steam. I have to get back up and keep moving. I have to dig in deep, brush the dust off and keep fighting. It’s what I’m called to do.  It’s what He’s made me to do.

Comments
  1. Carl says:

    I seemed to always hit the wall in January and February. Between the post holiday blues and knowing how much planning for summer was starring me in the face, I just had a difficult time with motivation. But you are so right- when it’s a calling from God, you push through and He is faithful. My prayers are with you!

    • Chris Snyder says:

      Thanks Carl. I appreciate the prayers. Yeah, it probably has something to do with the come-down of January and February. Our youth flagship youth retreat is in January, so when that’s done, there seems to be a kind of slump. There are also a lot of changes going on with the youth group as well as with the young adult group I lead, so I’m sure that has something to do with it. I guess there is just a lot of stress in my life right now, and it’s really nice to know that I’m not alone in the struggle, both in knowing others are struggling, too (as awful as it is to find look at that in a positive light) and to know that people are praying for me. Thanks again for the prayers, and for your amazing ministry. Also, following you on Twitter has been very enjoyable and rewarding 🙂

  2. Anon says:

    Hit the wall, eh?

    Happens to us all. The key words are “…never saw it coming.” Which, of course, is a likely reason one would hit a wall in the first place. Now, you just need to think about WHY you didn’t see it coming. Wasn’t looking straight ahead? Distracted? Eyes closed? Going ‘too fast’? Those are reasons that one might hit a wall in ‘actuality’. Can they be applied here?

    The easiest thing IS to take cover. The desirable thing from loved ones is just to give a ((( B I G H U G ))). But you are right – the right thing to do is the hardest thing to do – get up – brush yourself off – and determine WHY you hit that wall.

    Next time – and there will be a next time (or timeS) – you just might see it coming. Put the distractions ‘in their place’. Look ahead. Keep your eyes open. And monitor your ‘pace’. Life’s too short. At least THIS life’s too short. Slow down.

    • Chris Snyder says:

      Good call. There will always be a next time. Crazy thought, but definitely true. Getting rid of distractions and keeping our eyes open are necessary if we are to navigate life.

      Thanks for the reply

  3. Anon says:

    Being an old guy and much more of ‘secular’ flavor, I’d say you don’t really have to rid yourself of distractions…some distractions are quite OK. Just be aware of them – and their place – and navigate away… Being aware is the key. We can’t deal with all things all time … just ‘be aware’ and deal with what needs dealing with. Eyes open. Hand on the wheel. Aware.

    Cool. It’s all good.

Leave a Reply

