The Mystery of Prayer (am I alone in this?)

Posted: March 14, 2011 in Christian Living
Tags: , ,

I have been thinking a lot about prayer lately. With the devastating tsunami wreaking havoc around Japan, lots of people have been praying and encouraging others to pray. I love hearing people talk about prayer. I believe that we have the open ear of the omnipotent God. He who created existence allows us lowly buffoons to talk to Him. What an amazing privilege and what an astounding honor.

Image: graur razvan ionut / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image: graur razvan ionut / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

But, how are we supposed to pray? For what are we supposed to pray? For whom are we supposed to pray?

Those are my questions to myself, and I guess, my questions to you. I believe that we have a responisibility in our prayer life. I believe that prayer is a very personal and intimate thing. Even in corporate prayer, there is a bond that forms between people when we talk with God as a group. It is a beautiful thing, prayer. As beautiful as it is powerful.

Jesus modeled prayer for us in Matthew 6: 9-13 “Our Father in Heaven, hallowed be your Name. Your Kingdom come, Your will be done, on Earth as it is in Heaven. Give us this day our daily bread, and forgive our debts, as we have forgiven our debtors. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil”.

I like to use that as a guideline, but there are other things I feel the need to pray about. In fact, it feels like I have lots of other things that need prayer.

  • My relationships need prayer, sometimes a lot of prayer.
  • The young adult group I lead needs prayer
  • The youth group I lead needs prayer
  • I have issues that I face in my own life that also need prayer

I sometimes feel like I ask for too much, like a kid who isn’t happy with their new bike because I really want the blue one. Sometimes I feel as though I keep asking for help and forgiveness about the same things over and over again. Sometimes I think God is bored with my prayers, or maybe I’m missing something.

I would really love to hear your thoughts on prayer. I would really love to start a small discussion about how we pray. Am I alone in looking at prayer as a great mystery? What do you think? How do you pray?

Comments
  1. Steve says:

    Yeah I get what you’re saying. As far as feeling like you’re boring God…or feeling like your’e being too repetitious… remember Jesus is Gethsemane. He prayed repeatedly for God to spare him from the burden he had assigned.

    I think much of the time the answers to these questions are there, but we (I) have to get better at listening.

    • Chris Snyder says:

      I find it a little hard to focus on listening sometimes. It seems as though my prayers are very one-sided. And, they probably are. I spend a lot of time trying to “cast my anxiety on Christ” and maybe I do need to spend more time just listening and resting in Him. Thanks Steve!

  2. I simply find a quiet place and talk to Jesus just like I would talk to a friend who is in the room with me. Not only do I pray but I sit quiet and listen for His small voice. Prayer is very powerful!

    • Chris Snyder says:

      Thanks, April.

      I like to go out to a spot in the woods to get away and be with Jesus. I haven’t been there in a while, so I’m thinking I should probably do it again soon. I love getting away and being alone with God, but I don’t do it as often as I should. Thanks for the reminder to get away and find a quiet place.

Leave a Reply

