Another One Bites the Dust

Posted: May 7, 2011 in General Life
Tags: ,

A scene comes to mind. A fairly large NY apartment where two guys used to live, but now only one remains. As he says goodbye to his roommate, the door closes and he turns away. Seconds later the door swings open and the departing roommate runs back in to hug his friend.

Living with a friend can either be a great bonding experience or a fantastically painful one (we can’t all be Chandler and Joey). Over the years I have had plenty of roommates both good and bad. Today I am writing about my friend and roommate, David Rotch. Well, if you’re reading this, he’s not my roommate anymore. He has moved on to greener pastures. You see, Dave just got married. Well, I guess it happens to the best of us, but I’m really going to miss Dave.

Dave and I have been roommates for three years, and in that time we have seen our lives stretch, grow, unhinge and fall apart. We have spent countless hours talking about life, usually standing outside until one or two in the morning. Throughout my life I can think of many people who have helped me and encouraged me. I have had many people challenge me and comfort me. I really am blessed to have so many great people in my life. My friendship with Dave has been a special blessing, though. He has been an encourager, a confidant, a sounding board, someone to sit and watch countless hours of tv with, and someone who truly challenges me to grow. He has dropped me off at the airport too many times to count. He has talked me out of stupid decisions and listened to me whine and complain about whatever is bothering me at the moment. Dave is a true friend.

I am a better person because of my friendship with Dave. I am excited for him and his new bride, Elia. I pray that their life together will be rewarding, fulfilling, and wonderful.

For those of you out there who have friends like Dave, let them know that you care about them. Sometimes we all need to know that our lives matter and that our friendships are meaningful.

Comments
  1. The Hesterwoman says:

    You know I love this friendship junk! 🙂 Seriously! Thanks for putting it into words. 🙂

Leave a Reply

