My Walk With God is Changing

Posted: May 13, 2011 in Christian Living
Tags: , , , , ,

I have not been teaching lately. With the wedding coming up, and some important details still in the air, I have delegated a lot of my youth group leading to other leaders. The young adult group that I lead is on a hiatus for the summer, as well. Therefore, I am not teaching right now. This break started a couple of weeks ago, but already something is noticeably different.

Image: smokedsalmon / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Hello??? Am I just teaching myself here?

I feel like my relationship with God has changed, or has at least dwindled some. The funny thing is, I have been reading my Bible more often and my prayer life is as good as, if not better than, it has been over the past few months. I was kind of at a loss about what was happening, until I talked to an old friend of mine the other day.

He told me that faith is a very interesting thing. It is something that only increases as you give it away. He told me that it was normal to feel a little out of it right now. He told me that my break from teaching right now is what’s causing my supposed slump. It isn’t that my faith is weaker, but just that it’s different. I’ve been teaching the young adult group for about five years and both that group and the youth group for around three. My faith has grown into something that I love sharing and teaching. So now that I’m not teaching anyone, it feels like something is wrong. I don’t believe that there is actually anything wrong with my faith right now (not compared to when I was teaching twice a week), but that I just need to learn how to deal with this aspect of my faith.

I know myself as a creature of habit, and I generally try to find patterns in things so that I can find the most efficient way to do any task. Once I get the pattern down, I can just hammer out whatever it is I need to do. While I was teaching, I had my faith organized to work within my schedule and my life. I am starting to think that my problem lies within my pattern based life. Maybe I do need this shake-up to take stock in where I am with God. Maybe He wants me to change how I interact with Him, and how I show Him to those around me? Have you ever been in a situation where God has changed some part of your walk so that you can refocus on Him? If so, how did it work out?

Comments
  1. April says:

    I understand about wedding coming up! My son is getting married in August. He lives in Ga, we live in W. Kentucky and the wedding is in N. Ky.

    My prayers are with you as you are underway with planning and looking ahead to your future.

    You are a faithful subscriber and wanted you to know that if you received my latest post Renewal of the Soul and Heart. You may have received the title only. For some reason the content went missing for a few. But, it is restored for you to view.

    Blessings to you and all that is ahead of you.
    April
    http://aprilhawk.wordpress.com

  2. Chris Snyder says:

    Thanks for the prayers, April. I’ve been a little busy lately, but I’ll check out your post! Have fun with the wedding planning 🙂

Leave a Reply

